About us

We provide mental health and learning disability care for people across Norfolk and Suffolk.

We are dedicated to providing high quality care with compassion, delivering many of the NHS services that are provided outside of hospital and in the community.

We have clinical teams providing services in inpatient, community and primary care settings. Services include:

  • Adult mental health
  • Forensic and specialist mental health
  • Older people’s mental health
  • Children’s mental health
  • Specialist learning disability
  • Primary care and liaison psychiatry
  • Substance misuse
  • Research and development

These teams work in geographic care groups with dedicated local clinical leadership teams.

  • West and south Norfolk
  • North Norfolk and Norwich
  • Great Yarmouth and Waveney
  • West Suffolk
  • East Suffolk

We support a population of just over 1.6 million people and employ more than 5,000 staff. Our biggest bases are at Hellesdon Hospital, Norwich, Wedgwood House, Bury St Edmunds and Woodlands Unit in Ipswich but our staff are based in more than 50 locations. This link directs you to more information on the services we provide. 

Our strategy sets out our overarching ambitions as a Trust, including our vision, our values, our purpose, and our priorities for the longer-term future.

While it rightly acknowledges our history, the challenges we still face, and the lived experience of our communities, it sets out our commitment for continued improvement and a bold ambition for a very different future in the longer term.


How we fit into the NHS

​NHS England and NHS Improvement (NHSE/I)

​NHSE/I leads the National Health Service (NHS) in England. It is an independent body, at arm's length from the government.

Its main role is to improve health outcomes for people in England:

  • Providing national leadership and driving up the quality of care
  • Overseeing the operation of clinical commissioning groups
  • Allocating resources to clinical commissioning groups
  • Commissioning primary care and specialist services
  • For more information, visit the NHS website.

Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs)

​CCGs commission most services, including:

  • Planned hospital care
  • Rehabilitative care
  • Urgent and emergency care (including out-of-hours)
  • Community health services
  • Mental health and learning disability services

CCGs can commission any service provider that meets NHS standards and costs. Service providers can be NHS hospitals, social enterprises, charities, or private sector companies.

CCGs must like the quality of services they commission. They must follow guidelines from the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). They must consider data from the Care Quality Commission (CQC) about service providers.

NHSE/I and CCGs must involve patients, carers and the public in decisions about services.

Find your local CCG